Day 89-Wedding Ready and Workout Routines

14 Mar

Less than 90 days!!! YAY!  This countdown may cause me to burst into moments of hysteria periodically as I become aware of how quickly our wedding day approaches.  In fact, I dreamed that we were married last night but instead of driving to the airport for our cruise, Jeremy wanted to stay and hang out at my parent’s house…. Awkward.

Anyhoo!  If you’ve been keeping up with the blog I have been faithfully devoted to P90X in the hopes of having a rockin’ bod come Honeymoon time. My college roommate came to town for the weekend so I needed to fit in my workout Friday because I knew we wouldn’t be running on Saturday, instead we got pedicures and went shopping.  Please don’t judge me and assume I’m some uppity city-girl with a complete disregard for budgeting; this is only the 3rd pedicure I’ve had done in my entire life and I didn’t even buy anything when we went shopping!  Plus, I have a pretty intense budget that the pedicures were factored into! 🙂 Also, we shopped at the mildly-sketchy, pot-scented, ultra-cheap, Entertainmart.  It’s fantastic! They have thousands of ultra-low priced movies!  As I was looking at various workout videos I found this:

 

BAHAHAHAHA!  I just can’t express to you how grossed I get when I see guys that are anywhere near this buff.  It’s a little bit nauseating to be entirely honest.  Don’t get my wrong, I love that Jeremy is SO much stronger than me and I love that the man is muscular, but I also like that he has a neck, can touch his elbows together, and doesn’t walk around like an ape. Even the main guy on P90X is a little much for me. 

Back to my workout routine:  Friday I had planned to do Cardio X but it was a BEAUTIFUL day and I haven’t been running in ages.  Through college I had developed a pretty consistent running schedule and worked my way up to about 6 miles.  I know that’s not a ton, but it was an accomplishment for me.  Towards the end of last year my sister and I had decided we were going to train for a ½ Marathon in January.  But I was just not feeling well and in November I was sick of being tired and weak all the time so I finally went to the Doctor. After over a thousand dollars in lab work and a small cancer scare, I discovered that I was in the end stages of Mono and the Dr. could do nothing to help.  So glad I paid you for this.  His advice, “Sleep and stop running your body can’t handle it.”

I’m sorry, WHAT

 So, I haven’t been running since November.  Friday that all changed, I figured I’d do a 30 minute run.  My neighborhood isn’t unsafe but it’s also not free of crime, so armed with my cell and some pepper spray, I set off!

DANG!  30 minutes is a LOT when you haven’t run in almost 5 months!!!   Truly, I probably only ran 25 minutes because I stopped at one of those outdoor-workout-station-things that my townhouse managers conveniently hid at the very back of one of the units.  I have to say, I felt SO much better after that run than I typically do after a P90X video.  There is something oddly gratifying about post-workout soreness. 🙂 Aside from one sketchy guy, a ridiculous teenager who shouted out his window (I’m sure hoping that I would hear his absurd remarks, then turn adoringly and notice his attempt at a beard, eco-friendly car, hear his “indie” music, and fall in love), and a paper hand with the name “Timothy” on the back, it was a pretty safe and uneventful run.

Conclusion, no exercise beats a good run.  Unfortunately, it’s now dark in the mornings (thank you time change) so I guess I’ll have to keep up with my P90X. 🙂  Honeymoon body, here I come!

Leave a Reply

